Sunday, January 6, 2013

One more arrested for 2006 Malegaon serial blasts

Mateen Hafeez TNN

The National Investigation Agency (NIA) on Saturday arrested right wing group member, Lokesh Sharma, for the 2006 Malegaon serial bombings.

Sharma, suspected to have done a recce of Malegaon along with accomplices Dhan Singh, Manohar Singh and Rajendra Chaudhary, was taken into custody from a jail. He was first arrested in 2011 for the 2008 Malegaon bomb blasts. So far, the NIA has arrested Dhan Singh, Manohar,
Rajendra and Sharma for the September 8, 2006 serial blasts that killed 37 in Malegaon.

Earlier, the Maharashtra ATS led by the then joint commissioner K P Raghuvanshi and DIG S K Jaiswal, had arrested nine Muslim youth stating that they had engineered the blasts. However the Malegaon residents said the ATS story was concocted and Muslim boys were not involved. Later the case was handed over to NIA, which arrested saffron brigade members.

The NIA is now looking for accused Sandeep Dange, Ramji Kalsangra and four others in the 2006 Malegaon blast cases.

The Times of India, January, 6, 2012

No comments:

Post a Comment