Sunday, October 19, 2014

Congress' Shaikh Asif wins Malegaon assembly seat

A legislative assembly election was held on 15 October 2014, in a single phase, to select the 288 members of the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly in India. The result was announced on 19 October,2014, with the BJP getting a majority.

BJP for the first time secured 122 seats, Shiv Sena bagged 63, while Congress could managed only 42 seats, followed by Sharad Pawar-led NCP with 41 seats. Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) reduced from 13 seats to just one while Hyderabad's All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) made its debut in Maharashtra assembly elections by winning two seats; one from Aurangabad and another from Mumbai south-cenral.

In Malegaon central constituency, amidst a tough competition between Mufti Mohammed Ismail, the sitting MLA from Lok Jan Shakti Party, and Congress' Shaikh Asif, the first timer Asif managed to win the election with a 13,000 plus vote margin. Asif has been mayor in Malegaon municipal corporation. He is said to be the young face of Malegaon's politics.

In Maleagon outer constituency, Dada Bhuse (below in the pic)of Shiv Sena won the election. He won the assembly poll for the third consecutive time. (Pics:

Tuesday, September 30, 2014

Malegaon Assembly Election - a war for political survival

While the sitting MLA Mufti Mohammed Ismail, the Chief Imam of city's Jama mosque, joined sharad Pawar-led Nationalist Congress Party, Congress declared Shaikh Asif, city's former Mayor, as its candidate. The war, for each one's political survival became tough soon after Abdul Malik Isa Shaikh, a former mayor, was announced an assembly ticket by the Hyderabad-based All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM).

Through there are over a dozen candidates contesting the election, the fight is going to take place among Ismail, Asif and Shaikh. Malegaon, which has around 1.75 lakh voters, will be using its right to franchise on October 15.


September 30, 2014

Friday, May 16, 2014

BJP bags Dhule Malegaon Lok Sabha seat

Bhartiya Janata Party's Bhamre Ramrao won the Lok Sabha election from the Dhule-Malegaon Parliamentary constituency. He secured 5,29,450 votes while the runner up, Congress' Ambrish Bhai Patel, could manage 3,98,727 votes.

Ramrao won with a margine of 1,30,723 votes. There were 19 candidates in this Lok Sabha constituency.